<bgsound src="http://www.travel.tennisonfamily.com/midis/france.mid" loop=infinite>Avignon, France - May 1998
     Avignon was the seat of Catholicism for a succession of nine popes from Clement V in 1309 to 1376 and Benedict XIII who left Avignon in 1403.  Each pope added to the construction of the Palace.
Click on a photo to view, then use your browser's 
"BACK" button  to return here.  Click on a link for more information on that place.
History of the Time of the Popes at Avignon