Buenos Aires, Argentina - January 2006 - Torre de los Ingleses
Torre de los Ingleses is in the center of the Plaza Britannia. It was built by British residents in commemoration of the centennial of the Revolution of May and was inaugurated on May 24, 1916. All the parts were brought from England. The main door bears the inscription, "To the great Argentine people, the British residents, cheers, May 25 1810-1910." Following the 1982 Falklands war with Britain, the tower changed its name from "Torre de los Ingleses" (The British Tower) to "Torre Monumental" (Monumental Tower) and the plaza is no longer Plaza Britannia.